Finding ez: Solving a 3D Vector Equation

• Thread starter hubluh
  • Start date
  • Tags
    3d Vector
In summary, the question is asking to find the value of ez in the vector e=1/3i+2/3j+ezk, which is a unit vector. The possible answers are 0, 1, 1/3, and 2/3. A unit vector has a magnitude of 1.
hubluh

Homework Statement

Find the value of ez if e = 1/3i + 2/3j + ezk

Homework Equations

Any help?

The Attempt at a Solution

Have no idea where to start

Physics news on Phys.org
Im currently studying for an exam and I found this in past papers. I am using no book atm.

My only guess is that e is supposed to be a unit vector. Any idea if that is right? If not, is it possible for you to upload an image of the question? You might be omitting a key detail which you do not realize is important.

Likes hubluh
This is the exact question :" The vector e=1/3i+2/3j+ezk is a unit vector. Find ez?"
The possible answers are 0,1,1/3 and 2/3

hubluh said:
This is the exact question :" The vector e=1/3i+2/3j+ezk is a unit vector. Find ez?"

Do you know what a unit vector is?

Likes hubluh
hubluh said:
Do you know what it means for a vector to have a unit length (i.e. to be a unit vector)?

Likes hubluh
Ahh I get you know. It has a magnitude of 1.
Thanks so much

Related to Finding ez: Solving a 3D Vector Equation

1. What is "Finding ez" and what does it involve?

"Finding ez" refers to the process of solving a 3D vector equation, which involves finding the values of unknown vectors in order to satisfy a given equation. This can involve using mathematical principles such as cross products and dot products to manipulate and solve the equation.

2. Why is solving a 3D vector equation important?

Solving a 3D vector equation is important in many scientific fields, including physics, engineering, and computer graphics. It allows us to model and understand the behavior of objects in three-dimensional space, which is essential for various real-world applications.