Exploring Tesla's Autos & Induction Motors

In summary, Tesla's induction motors have a torque constant for every speed, but that's also not how induction motors behave. The converter used to convert the battery's DC to AC might produce 3 phase AC, with 3 phase motors being both light and powerful.
Phellippe Marques
As a EE student, I studied Induction motors: three and single phase. I saw somewhere that Tesla's autos are using induction motors feeded by batteries. But I've never heard about DC induction motors.. I also heard that Tesla autos have torque constant for every speed, but that's also not how induction motors behave. Any Ideas? Thanks!
IMG_9140.JPG

Engineering news on Phys.org
I would assume these vehicles use electronics to convert the battery's DC to an AC that can drive the AC motors. Possibly this inverter might produce 3 phase AC, with 3 phase motors being both light and powerful.

Likes Phellippe Marques
Phellippe Marques said:
I saw somewhere that Tesla's autos are using induction motors feeded by batteries. But I've never heard about DC induction motors..
There is an inverter connected to the battery which converts dc into three phase ac.
images (6).png

Likes Phellippe Marques
Thats enlighting for the power supply question. How about the constant torque?

Phellippe Marques said:
How about the constant torque?
This rate of DC-AC conversions are mostly controlled with DSPs in every detail. Phase, frequency, current (even waveform can be changed , if one has some wicked ideas) as function of thrust and speed - you can do as you please as long as the hardware can endure it.

Likes Phellippe Marques
Likes Phellippe Marques and cnh1995
Guys, I understood both the Dc-Ac conversion process in order to feed the 3phases induction motor, and the idea of controling the parameters to keep the output torque constant. I thank you all for the attention and help. Its enough for me, for me, the topic may now be closed

Likes jim hardy