Double Major vs Major & Double Minor

In summary, the conversation discusses the considerations of a freshman at UC Berkeley who is deciding between a double major in Engineering Physics and Astrophysics or a major in Engineering Physics with minors in Astrophysics and Mechanical Engineering. The potential downsides of a double major, such as time conflicts, financial concerns, and delayed graduation, are highlighted. The speakers also suggest that having a minor may not have a significant impact in the real world, and advise the student to choose the major that best aligns with their future goals and interests.
QunatumMech
Hello,

I am a freshman at UC Berkeley deciding whether or not to do a double major. I was deciding between a Double Major in Engineering Physics and Astrophysics or a Major in Engineering Physics and Minors in Astrophysics & Mechanical Engineering. However, in order to do a Double Major I would have to complete 30-40 more credits of GE due to college requirements. Should I do the requirements and get the double major or go with a single major and 2 minors. (For information sake, My future goal is to attend a Physics Grad School.)

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
I am enjoying double-majoring (EE/Physics with math minor). I really wanted to learn both, and wasn't exactly sure what I was going to want to do later, so I decided to go for it. However, you should make sure you really want to do it, because there are a lot of downsides.

1 - Time conflicts. Since you will be taking courses from 2 different majors/colleges, there will be frequent time conflicts between classes. Frequently you may find that there is a course from each that you really need to take that semester (to unlock other classes), but they are both offered at the same time. This can delay graduation further.