Creating a Website: Security & Server Setup

• Thread starter bhaazee
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses creating a website for a local town and the security concerns surrounding it. It is mentioned that there are hosting services available for those who do not have their own server. The discussion also highlights the importance of using strong passwords and being cautious of social engineering attempts. The possibility of a man-in-the-middle attack is also mentioned.
bhaazee
Hallo Friends,
I am actually a mechanical Engineer and have least knowledge on Computer Science.

My doubt is, say I wish to create a website for my local town to interact with people of that town for discussing various issues. Do I need a server to store the information that are being generated due to interactive activities.

How can I define the security level of the website with regard to hacking?

Regards
Bharath Duraiswamy.

Computer science news on Phys.org
You don't need your own server, there are hosting services (both free and paid) that will rent server space for you.

This question is not asked for the first time - see https://www.physicsforums.com/showthread.php?t=292464 for example. There were more threads, I just can't find them now.

Try to google for "free web hosting" you will get more information than you need.

bhaazee said:
How can I define the security level of the website with regard to hacking?

Use a strong password to protect root access to your server or rented server space.

Thank you Guys for ur replies.

However, I can't understand with reply from "fss"

We are living in the world of anonymous. HB Gary is carrying out security Services for US Army and their root servers got hacked. Also his twitter account. Do you think just because the password for the root servers was not strong enough it got hacked?

bhaazee said:
However, I can't understand with reply from "fss"