Creating a Bi-Directional Hydraulic Movement for a Personal Project

• Thread starter mmmcheechy
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Movement
In summary, the machinist wants to make a hydraulic circuit that performs bi-directional movement. He does not want a reservoir, and wants a design that is completely mechanical. He thinks springs or a moving mechanical flag will be necessary.
mmmcheechy
I'm a machinist and i want to make a hydraulic circuit for a personal project. I'm sure the type of movement i want to make already exists i just don't know what it would be called. I want to make a bi directional movement that from a center postion encounters a constant resistance as it moves away from its resting position (like a dampener) but then moves freely back to its rest position and if continued to move from the rest position (in the same direction as the free movement and opposite of the first movement) would once again encounter the same type of constant resistance.
the pic is a diagram of what i would like to achieve.
in the left illustration the black bar represents the piston (or whatever will move) the small arrows indicate that the piston will encounter resistance it it is pushed in either direction. the right illustration shows that the piston having moved down would continue to feel resistance if it kept moving down but would move freely back to the center position (indicated by the large arrow) then would once again encounter resistance in either direction from there.

also i don't mind if it requires more then one piston and i would like to avoid having a reservoir

Attachments

• IMG_0060.JPG
    IMG_0060.JPG
    61.5 KB · Views: 518
Last edited:
Engineering news on Phys.org
This sounds kind of like a standard shock absorber in a car. But you say you don;t want a reservoir.

What's wrong with springs?