Courses/Books Recommended for Metamaterial Research?

In summary, a first year college student is shadowing a grad student in a nano-optics research group to learn about microfabrication. They plan on conducting their own research and were considering reading Optics by Hetcht but are unsure of what else they would need to know. They were suggested to try a Google search for a textbook on metamaterials and microfabrication.
ElPimiento
I'm a first year student in college and I've started shadowing under a grad student, who's in a nano-optics research group (http://www.nanoscience.ucf.edu/chanda/), in order to learn about microfabrication. I'd like to start conducting my own research soon; however, i don't know exactly what it is I'd need to know to start. I was planning on reading Optics by Hetcht, beyond that I don't know.

Physics news on Phys.org

Related to Courses/Books Recommended for Metamaterial Research?

1. What are some recommended courses for studying metamaterial research?

Some recommended courses for studying metamaterial research include electrodynamics, optics, materials science, and wave physics. These courses provide a foundation in the principles and concepts behind metamaterials, and may also cover the design and fabrication techniques used in their creation.

2. Are there any online courses available for learning about metamaterial research?

Yes, there are several online courses available for learning about metamaterial research, such as "Metamaterials: Fundamentals and Applications" offered by Coursera and "Introduction to Metamaterials" offered by edX. These courses provide a flexible and convenient way to learn about metamaterials from anywhere in the world.

3. What are some recommended books for studying metamaterial research?