Confused lost and demoralised >.<

In summary, the conversation discusses the struggles of being a first year physics major and the challenges of understanding the concepts and theories. The person also talks about considering giving up on physics for another degree, but realizing their passion for it. They also mention their interest in pursuing theoretical physics and the differences between theoretical and experimental work. The conversation ends with advice to not give up and to work hard to understand the concepts and methods of thinking in physics.
semc
Hi guys i am currently a year 1 student and i am doing physics major and i am having a tough time now Even though what i am learning now is the basic of physics, sometimes i find myself lost during lecture and can't make any sense of what the lecturer is saying. Is this a common thing that most people experience or is it just me :cry:

At times i have though of giving up and do some other degree but i can't really think of what other things i want to do other than physics :frown: So do you guys think that even someone with such low caliber can do physics?

I have always been fascinated by cool gadgets and the job prospect of being a nano engineer has always been very appealing to me until i started to do physics major that is. I have found myself hating to go to physics lab classes because we just can't produce the damn theoretical result that we wanted or expected and i find that very annoying. The lab manager told us it is impossible to get the experimental data from the theory that we learn and that greatly disappoint me for some reason.