Complex Analysis or Complex Variables?

In summary, the Complex Variables class is a less rigorous introduction to complex numbers and calculus, while the Complex Analysis class is more focused on theory and proofs. The extra abstraction in Complex Analysis may become significant in more advanced topics in physics.
PhyConnected
Hi everyone,

I'm a Physics student going into my Junior year and I'm currently registering for my courses for the following semester and I have two options for my "complex" course, namely:

---------------------------------------------------
Complex Variables

Theory of functions of one complex variable, analytic and meromorphic functions. Cauchys theorem, residue calculus, conformal mappings, introduction to analytic continuation and harmonic functions.

OR

Complex Analysis I

Complex numbers, the complex plane and Riemann sphere, Mobius transformations, elementary functions and their mapping properties, conformal mapping, holomorphic functions, Cauchys theorem and integral formula. Taylor and Laurent series, maximum modulus principle, Schwarzs lemma, residue theorem and residue calculus.
---------------------------------------------------

The second course is a requirement for Honors Maths program, while the first one is open to all Physics students and Maths Minors.
I was wondering whether it would be worthy of taking Complex Analysis over Complex variables? (based on the course description or any similar experience)

Thanks! :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
That depends on you. "Complex Analysis" will be harder and include more theory and "proofs" than you really need for physics. But if you are sure you can do it and enjoy that kind of thing, go for it.

HallsofIvy said:
That depends on you. "Complex Analysis" will be harder and include more theory and "proofs" than you really need for physics. But if you are sure you can do it and enjoy that kind of thing, go for it.