Can a Finance Major Get into a Masters Program in Applied Mathematics?

In summary, the person is asking if it is possible to get accepted into a masters degree in Applied Mathematics at a good university, despite having a finance major in their undergraduate studies. They have taken math electives and have a strong academic record, but are concerned about their university not being well-known. They also mention having funding from their government. The response advises them to research universities with strong math departments and look for scholarship opportunities.
dmi271
Hello

I'm new here. I've wanted to ask this for quite a while to someone but didn't know where to. You see, I made a mistake, I majored in finance during my undergrad education and now I want to do an MS in Applied Mathematics (or similar). Yes, I understand it should have been the other way around.

I´ve taken math electives during my studies, so I have Calc 1 & 2, Multivariable Calc, Linear Algebra, Diff Equations, Game Theory (exchange semester in germany), Stats 1 & 2 and Econometrics. All A's

However, I also am a foreigner hailing from a rather unremarkable university (and that's being kind). Ranking top 20 in Mexico must mean as much academically as being able to read without moving my lips.

So my question is... is it even remotely possible I can get accepted at a MASTERS degree in a good university in Applied Mathematics? I've also been self studying really hard to take the subject GRE test in August or so. I graduate in December 2011. Can you recommend me any universities that seem like a match for me?

Funding is not a problem btw, my wise and glorious government is paying (my parents tax money at work... for a change)

Thanks and sorry for the long winded post!

Physics news on Phys.org