Calculate the retarding force of a cyclist on a slope

In summary, a cyclist's weight causes a force that retards them on a slope. If the slope is horizontal, there is no force. If the slope is 100% (45 degrees), the weight of the cyclist is the retarding force.
Nicaragua

Homework Statement

A cyclist attacks a 20% hill, the mass of the cyclist plus the bike is 100kg. Assuming g = 10 N kg^-1 , calculate the size of the retarding force due to gravity, acting along the slope.

Homework Equations

g = 10 N kg^-1 , Work = Force x Displacement,

The Attempt at a Solution

I was thinking that maybe resolving into vertical and horizontal components of the cyclists weight but am not quite sure how this would work. I have never worked a retarding force on a slope before. Some guidance please? Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_1006.JPG
    IMG_1006.JPG
    38.6 KB · Views: 738
Physics news on Phys.org
Nicaragua said:

Homework Statement

A cyclist attacks a 20% hill, the mass of the cyclist plus the bike is 100kg. Assuming g = 10 N kg^-1 , calculate the size of the retarding force due to gravity, acting along the slope.

Homework Equations

g = 10 N kg^-1 , Work = Force x Displacement,

The Attempt at a Solution

I was thinking that maybe resolving into vertical and horizontal components of the cyclists weight but am not quite sure how this would work. I have never worked a retarding force on a slope before. Some guidance please? Thanks

You have the right idea. Draw the free body diagram (FBD) for the cyclist. The weight of the cyclist points down toward the center of the Earth, and that will give you components parallel to the slope and perpendicular to the slope. The component parallel to the slope is the retarding force. If the slope is horizontal (0%), there will be no retarding force, and all of the weight is straight down. If the slope is 100% (45 degrees), how much of the rider's weight is the retarding force?

berkeman said: