Basic Books on Tensors: Suggestions Welcome

In summary, tensors are mathematical objects that describe relationships between vectors and their components and are used in fields such as physics, engineering, and mathematics. Learning about tensors can help in solving complex problems and gaining a deeper understanding of the physical world. While a basic understanding of linear algebra and calculus is helpful, it is not necessary to have advanced math skills to learn about tensors. Some beginner-friendly books on tensors include "Introduction to Tensor Calculus, Relativity, and Cosmology" by Derek F. Lawden, "Tensor Calculus for Physics" by Dwight E. Neuenschwander, and "Tensor Analysis for Physicists" by Joshi and Nityananda. Tensors have various applications in different fields such as physics,
Sobi
I am reading basic cosmology but inside the books I am studying I have faced tensor so i need basic books on tensor to understand those books is it possible to suggest good books ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Have you studied Vector Analysis yet? I'm reading out of Schaum's "Vector Analysis with an introduction to Tensor Analysis", my instructors think that the latter portion on tensors is good.

Related to Basic Books on Tensors: Suggestions Welcome

1. What are tensors?

Tensors are mathematical objects used to describe the relationships between different vectors and their components. They are essential tools in various fields such as physics, engineering, and mathematics.

2. Why do I need to learn about tensors?

Tensors are used in many scientific and engineering applications, including general relativity, fluid dynamics, and electromagnetism. Understanding tensors can help you solve complex problems and gain a deeper understanding of the physical world.

3. Do I need advanced math skills to understand tensors?