At what level should a high school graduate be at in terms of mathematics?

In summary, the conversation discussed the speaker's decision to take a year off from school and their newfound interest in math through self-study. They asked if others had learned these concepts in high school and if they would be taught in university. They also asked for textbook recommendations and expressed frustration with their educational system. The conversation also briefly touched on the differences between the Canadian, American, and British educational systems.
TheAbsoluTurk
I graduated from high school this year and took the three main sciences (biology, chemistry and physics) as well as math up to Calculus.

I've decided to take a year away from school for a couple reasons. But that doesn't mean that I must stop learning.

Recently I bought a book which gives very simple descriptions of many facets of mathematics. It's not a textbook by any means but I've found out about things like complex numbers, matrices, polar coordinates and other subjects which I never learned in high school. I have, by no means, learned them but this new knowledge has made me feel interested in math.

I heard about some of these concepts from friends in summer school who knew people learning them in advanced IB courses but I had no idea about them. They have IB courses at private evangelical schools here in British Columbia, but I do know of one public school which supports such programs.

I plan to graduate from university in some discipline of engineering.

Anyway my question is in regards to your educations. Did you learn these kinds of concepts in high school?

Will one learn such things in mathematics and physics curricula throughout university?

Does anyone have a suggestion of any particular textbook from which I can learn any material I'm expected to know?

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org