Are you teaching yourself physics and maths?

In summary, the conversation discusses individuals who are teaching themselves physics and mathematics. One person is being taught and also self-teaching, while another is primarily self-teaching. They express a love for these subjects and a desire to continue learning, despite other potential career paths. One individual also mentions a book that sparked their interest in high school.

You are...

• teaching yourself physics and mathematics.

Votes: 12 80.0%
  • being taught physics and mathematics.

Votes: 3 20.0%

• Total voters
arevolutionist
I am curious how many humans on this forum are teaching themselves physics and mathematics. Thus, are you being taught or are you teaching yourself physics and mathematics?

Science news on Phys.org
I'm being taught and I teach myself mathematics.

I'll have to come back to the world of physics later on it my life.

I just finished a college prep course. Until this fall, I'm studying on my own to build and strengthen my skills. I want to study physics and mathematics, and eventually chemistry. But circumstances suggest that programming might be a better career choice for me.

But wow! The more I get into these math and physics books, the more I love it. I never knew how beautiful and fascinating it all is. I've been dipping into Pickover's A Passion for Mathematics. That's the kind of book I wish I had back in high school.

I'm being taught math, and I am teaching myself physics.

I am taught mathematics in the sense that I take math classes and ask my instructors questions. However, most of the work comes from me sitting down reading the book and doing the exercises, so in a sense I teach myself mathematics (and the same can probably be said of most people).

Well, I hope that I'm not so old, and so caught up with other aspects of life, that I've stopped teaching myself physics, math, and other stuff.

Related to Are you teaching yourself physics and maths?