Angle of Incidence on a spherical lens

In summary, the conversation discusses the dilemma of finding the incident angle on a convex lens, specifically on the first and internal surfaces. There is confusion about whether the angle of incidence is measured to a normal or tangent line at the point of incidence. It is also unclear how to find the angle of incidence on the second surface interface given the first angle of refraction. The use of derivatives in finding the angle of incidence is also mentioned. The conversation ends with a description of a triangular prism that can be drawn inside the circle to help understand the concept. The angle of incidence is measured from the normal, which is the extension of the radius at the point on the circle.
Mitch0
Firstly, I'm sorry if this is incorrect or if there is a specific place for such questions but as this is neither a problem posed to me, nor something that has been taught - I have little background with which to work with but it is something I need to do for my ERT and 2 maths teachers have been unsuccessful in explaining it.

My dilemma is how to find the incident angle on a convex lens (so any portion of a circle) on the first side, and on the internal surface as it leaves the lens.
I was slightly confused about the normal vs. tangent lines to the curve.

So firstly, is the angle of incidence measured to a normal that is 90* (So, vertically through the lens) or the tangent at that angle of the curve (from the centre of the circle)?
And then how do you find the angle of incidence internally at the second surface interface given the first angle of refraction?
I know how to find the angle of incidence given the angle of the interface, such as on a prism... but how do you find it for a circle, and can it be done with the derivative of the function of a circle? (Or do I also misunderstand the use of derivatives??)

I'm pretty lost on all of this. :/