Anamorphic and Spherical Lens Focusing

In summary: They are designed and optimized to minimize all of these problems. I suspect a cheap 'variable diopter' will only be frustrating and unsatisfying.In summary, the conversation is about anamorphic cinematography and the use of different lenses to achieve certain looks. It is mentioned that expensive anamorphic primes are designed to work with single focus, but indie filmmakers have found a cheaper workaround by using projection lenses with prime lenses. The question is focused on what could be attached to the front of the lens system to focus both lenses together, and various solutions are discussed, including using a bellows and a variable diopter. However, it is noted that these homemade solutions may not provide the same level of performance as expensive lenses designed specifically for
artiswar
New to the forum but stumbled upon this and thought it might be beneficial to query more scientifically minded individuals. I am a filmmaker and use a variety of lenses to acquire certain looks. One of which is anamorphic cinematography. (http://www.red.com/learn/red-101/anamorphic-lenses) Expensive ($40K and up) anamorphic primes (anamorphic elements and spherical combined into a single focusing lens) are designed to work with single focus. As a cheap work around, indie filmmakers began purchasing projection lenses (http://petapixel.com/2014/05/07/shooting-anamorphic-lens-dslr/) and using them in conjunction with the prime lens affixed to the body. While it produces the effect, both lenses must be focused. I saw somewhere on the net, where both the anamorphic projection lens and the prime lens were set to infinity focus and optics were attached to focus the two lenses. After all this, my question is, what could be affixed the the front of the lenses to focus both? Apologies if I was unclear.

Science news on Phys.org
I think I understand your question, but I'm not sure- do you have an anamorphic attachment already?