Achieving B+ in Calc 1 - Can I Be an EE Major?

• Thread starter rome1
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Calc 1
In summary, the person received a B+ in calculus 1 and is wondering how it will affect their future as an EE major. They are disappointed but the conversation reassures them that it is a good grade and emphasizes the importance of understanding the material. They also discuss the impact on their overall GPA and the importance of continuing to study and improve. The conversation concludes with advice to focus on future courses and opportunities for internships and graduate school.
rome1
I got a B+ in calc 1!

So I am new to this forum. First post! As you all can tell from my title I got a B+ in calc 1. I am declared as an EE major now, and was wondering how that grade stacks up. I was hoping for a A of course but didnt have the BEST study habits and because of that have an overall GPA of about 2.98. I am in my first year btw. We used the thomas calculus book. I guess I feel a little disapointed in this grade. But shoud I? thanks ahead of time!

Physics news on Phys.org

your life as you know it is now over

Yup. What Woopydalan said. Have fun mopping floors and flipping burgers, if that.

In all seriousness, this is one of your first courses. More weight will be put on your later courses and years.

Do you know why you got a B+?

Perhaps you should consider applying for a job at your local McDonald's.

All jokes aside, you shouldn't be so disappointed at a B+. It's a good grade and of course it's always better to have an A but oh well.

You'll probably find Calc II more difficult so make sure to put some time into studying every day or so.

It's of little consequence provided you gained a solid foundation in calculus. The basics will be your bread and butter throughout your engineering courses!

Work on bringing your GPA up. It'll help in obtaining internships/co-ops.