Academic Physics Engine: Free Simulation Software

In summary: Your Name]In summary, the speaker is a student studying electrical engineering in Portugal and is looking for freeware software to run simulations for their subject on vibrations. They are seeking recommendations from the forum and have received suggestions for PhET Interactive Simulations, Easy Java Simulations, and Algodoo. The speaker thanks the forum in advance and assures that they will ask for further help if needed.
pedrotairum
Hello!

First I would like to greet everyone on this forum. I'm a electrical engineering student in Portugal and I found this forum very helpful so I decided to join.
I'm now having a subject about vibrations and I was wondering if anyone knows about some freeware software that can run simulations of general physics like strings or a sheave. That would really help!

Thank you so much in advance!

Edit: I probably didn't make myself clear - What I was looking for is a physics simulation software. Sorry about that...

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org

Hello there!

First of all, welcome to the forum! It's great to have you here and I'm glad you find it helpful.

I can definitely understand your need for software to run simulations for your subject on vibrations. There are many freeware options available for physics simulations, so I'll list a few that you can check out and see which one best suits your needs:

1. PhET Interactive Simulations: This is a free online platform with a variety of physics simulations, including ones on strings and sheaves. You can access it from any device with an internet connection.

2. Easy Java Simulations: This is another free software that allows you to create and run simulations for physics and other sciences. It has a user-friendly interface and a wide range of options for customization.