Turbulence and why eddy breakups take place?

• Thread starter Vashliana
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Turbulence
In summary, the conversation discusses the energy cascade mechanism in turbulent flow and how large eddies transfer energy to smaller ones. The questions focus on the reasons for large scale eddy breakups and the mechanism through which energy is transferred between eddies. The concept of kinetic energy at both the macro and micro scales is also mentioned.
Vashliana
How to explain energy cascade mechanisms? Why eddy breakups take place?

Physics news on Phys.org
Vashliana said:
How to explain energy cascade mechanisms? Why eddy breakups take place?
Welcome to PF.

Can you post some links to the reading you have been doing about this? That will get you a lot better responses than just asking very broad questions without many explicity definitions and questions. Thanks.

hello again
Simply I studied about Turbulent flow and the Richardson energy cascade theoretically, but from the view point of physics i don't know how and why large eddy transfers energy to the smaller one?
thanks

hello

i have some questions about energy cascade in turbulent flow. I know that large eddies transfer energy to smaller one and ..., my first question is why large scales should breakup?
second : how these eddies transfer energy and what is the eddy breakup mechanism ?
and finally: we have kinetic energy in both bulk and molecular scale, what is the difference between these two kinetic energy (macro and micro)?
thanks a lot

Vashliana said:
but from the view point of physics i don't know how and why large eddy transfers energy to the smaller one?
Think about shear forces and angular momentum, and size. Is it easier to turn (roll) a large object or smaller object?

Related to Turbulence and why eddy breakups take place?

1. What causes turbulence?