Solving Mechanics Problem: Velocity X and Position X Function of Time t

• Thread starter tralblaz
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation is about a problem in Mechanics, specifically finding the velocity and position of a particle under the influence of a given force function. The conversation mentions using Newton's Second Law and integrating the problem to find the solutions. It also suggests posting similar problems in the Introductory Physics subforum in the future.
tralblaz
I am just starting out in Mechanics at my University. (Mechanincs is also known as statics and dynamics). I am having trouble working (what should be a simple) problem.

Here is the problem:

Find the velocity X(with 1 dot above the x) and the position X as a functin of the time t for a particle of mass m, which starts from rest at x=0 and t=0, subject to the following force functions:

Fx=f0+ct
where F0 and c are positive constants

Any help is greatly appreciated. :eek: :confused:

Physics news on Phys.org
Think Newton's second law;

[tex]F = ma = m\ddot{x}[/tex]

Thanks, I wass thinking of Newton's 2nd, but you also have to integrate problem, correct?

Thanks for any help and Newton's confirmation :)

tralblaz said:
Thanks, I wass thinking of Newton's 2nd, but you also have to integrate problem, correct?

Thanks for any help and Newton's confirmation :)
Yes, you need to substitute the given expression in the equation for Newton's Second and integrate it to get the required answers.

Please post similar problems under the Introductory Physics subforum next time.

Related to Solving Mechanics Problem: Velocity X and Position X Function of Time t

What is velocity and position in mechanics?

Velocity is the rate of change of an object's position with respect to time. It is a vector quantity that includes both magnitude (speed) and direction. Position is the location of an object in space, typically measured in relation to a reference point.