Should I Double Major in Physics and Electrical Engineering?

In summary: For example, I worked as an intern for a while last summer and it was really helpful to have a background in physics. Granted, I wasn't an engineer, but I was able to do things that were beyond my comfort zone because I knew what I was doing theoretically.In summary, the person is considering doing a double major in physics and electrical engineering in order to finish their undergraduate degree in 5.5 years. They are unsure about whether it is worth it and whether it would be better to just finish the degree in 7 years instead. They also mention that it would be helpful to have a background in physics in order to do things that are beyond their comfort zone.
Ze Corndog
I'm currently in a somewhat unique situation at the moment. I am about to finish my 5th year of my undergrad degree. I was doing computer science for two years when I realized it was just not for me, so I switched over to electrical engineering. Despite the workload, I enjoy the subject.

Now, to finish this degree, I would need to take classes for another 3 semesters. The third and final of these semesters would only have one or two classes. However, so many classes coincide between physics and electrical engineering that there's only a difference of 6 classes. If I were to double major into physics, I would only need to stay for an extra semester (due to the third semester having room for other classes).

So what I'm looking at is one degree for 6.5 years of schooling vs 7 years for two. It seems worth it to me and to everyone I've talked to (friends, parents, and even my advisor). But I'm going to ask you all because you seem smarter and more experienced. So, what do you think?

Physics news on Phys.org