Self-similarity of nonlinear PDE

In summary, the student assumed a self-similar solution of the form h(x,t) = t^αf(xt^β), and then obtained a solution for f(xt^β) as f(xt^β) = (xt^β)^γ. However, the student has not been able to figure out where they went wrong, and may need to review their notes and textbooks.
Raisa
Hi everyone,

I am a student in Mechanical Engineering and I am currently working on an assignment where I am exploiting the possibility of self-similarity for a PDE of a given problem. The PDE in my assignment consists of two independent variables (x for space and t for time), and one dependent variable h(x,t). The PDE is quite simple, however, my self-similar solution still contains the variable t. I have really spent a lot of time on trying to figure out where I went wrong in solving the problem but I cannot figure it out. I have summarized my solution method here: View attachment 6412

Does anyone have tips on how to solve this?

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Similarity Solutions.pdf
    73.2 KB · Views: 60
Physics news on Phys.org