Need help proving a flawed model

• Thread starter IBYCFOTA
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Model
In summary, the warehouse worker is concerned about the accuracy of their 98% accuracy standard. They have talked to their supervisor about the issue, who claims that the standard is still valid. The worker is curious about how to calculate the probability of an error, and is looking for help from others in the field.
IBYCFOTA
A little backstory - I work in a warehouse where my job is to quickly and accurately pick products from the shelves to ship out to the stores. Recently, I've gotten a talking to from my supervisor regarding my accuracy. The standard here is that you must be at a 98% accuracy or you will get what essentially amounts to a written warning, and if they continue to pile up they can eventually lead to termination. The problem is that the sample size being used to determine is incredibly small at times, and is such a small percentage of our overall body of work. For instance their sample on me for this last month was 122 pieces of product, and on any given month I probably pick around 100,000 pieces - if not more.

I've taken a class on statistics years ago and have some very basic knowledge on the matter, but enough to know that their current standard for accuracy is inherently flawed on account of not dealing with a reliable sample size. You can make one mistake in the .01% of work that they check and possibly get fired over it, and that's a slightly frightening prospect.

I've talked it over with my supervisor who mostly agrees but claims that they reviewed their policy in the past on this issue and found that 100 pieces was enough of a sample size to determine accuracy. I'd like to prove that wrong with some number crunching, but I'm afraid I've forgotten most of what I learned in the one statistics course that I took in college and need help from those more mathematically inlined than I.