Moving to computer science from physics

In summary: I know I'm good at problem solving and I can work quickly...but I'm not sure if that's enough for a computer programmer. I'm thinking about going to grad school, but I'm not sure if that's the best route.In summary, if you want a career in computer programming, you will need to focus on your math skills and programming experience. Additionally, you will need to focus on finding a program that will help you improve your problem-solving skills.
kamuss
Hello everybody, I am currently studying for my master in physics in Canada, but I have become really interested in theoretical computer science, especially AI and machine learning, the question is what are my chances of being able to obtain a graduate position in a computer science department, my strength lie in mathematics and physics not in coding, I can write code by I am by no means an expert programming, I can learn but as stated I am interested more in the theoretical aspect. Also in my background apart from math there are no CS related classes I have a good GPA (3.6 in BS and MS) and GRE (800 QUANT, 900 Subject) also I have the chance of continuing to the PhD at my current institution, but the job prospects are better in CS. What advise can you give me, your help is greatly appreciated. Best regards.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi all!

(Right now I'm an undergrad EE)

I'm really having trouble deciding which field to choose in future. I want to go in the field of research and from what I know, CS has wider opportunities for research as compared to TE. Is that right?

Besides, I have a deep interest for philosophy in general and I think CS has a greater blend of Philosophy with Science (consciousness, virtual reality etc.etc.) as compared to engineering.

Another option would be Computer Engineering. How's that?

I'm really confused on these issues and any guidance would be highly appreciated.

Thanks.