Minkowski Metric and Lorentz Metric

In summary: In GR, on the other hand, you need to worry about curved spacetime if you want to be relativist (or at least approximative).In summary, the two "metrics" are confusing me. I understand that both systems were formed so that all 4 dimensions have the same units. However, I don't know which one to use and I don't really understand how each metric system was formed (the thought process behind their creation). The Minkowski metric is especially confusing for me due to the imaginary "ict" factor.
wpan
I am currently studying special relativity on my own and I am looking into space time and space time diagrams. While reading through various sources I came across what seemed to be two methods to describe space time.

X0, X1, X2, X3 (ct, x,y,z) -> Lorentz Metric

X1, X2, X3, X4 (x,y,z,ict) -> Minkowski Metric

The two "metrics" are confusing me. I understand that both systems were formed so that all 4 dimensions have the same units. However, I don't know which one to use and I don't really understand how each metric system was formed (the thought process behind their creation). The Minkowski metric is especially confusing for me due to the imaginary "ict" factor. I think the differences in the metric system also has to do with the signs of each term. For example i see both these notations floating around (-+++) and (+---). Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
wpan said:
The two "metrics" are confusing me.
They're called signatures. The ict notation is an especially bad idea and hardly ever used any more, but the (+---) and (-+++) are widespread, and you have to keep alert for that. Both of these conventions are vigorously advocated by those who favor them.