Learning Python Loops: From Counting to Exponents of 2

In summary: Tags: In summary, I am new to programming, and was trying to do a loop to count up to 100 by 2, but I ran into an issue with using the language. I was able to solve it by printing the value of 2 and 5 and 8 and so on, but I am not sure how to get to 4096. I was told that base should be multiplied upon each recursion, but I am still having trouble understanding how to do that.
mr.me
Hi everyone, I'm new to programming, studying python in school.

here's my first go at a loop to count up to 100 by 2, works fine

stop_count=100
count=2
while(count<=stop_count):
print count
count=count+2

But one of my practice problems is to use 'while' to
print 2 and all powers of 2 through and including 4096

I suppose I don't quite understand the math for a sequence of exponents or the correct syntax for the code, here's my try:

stop_pow=4096
base=2
while (base<=stop_pow):
print base
base= base**base+1

Which of course just printed the value of 2^3

Would someone please show me the correct code so I can understand my mistake and this type of operation.

Last edited:
Technology news on Phys.org
Please use [noparse]
Code:
[/noparse] tags when posting your code. This is especially important in Python, where

Code:
stop_pow=4096
base=2
while (base<=stop_pow):
print base
base= base**base+1

is syntactically incorrect, while

Code:
stop_pow=4096
base=2
while (base<=stop_pow):
    print base
base= base**base+1

and

Code:
stop_pow=4096
base=2
while (base<=stop_pow):
    print base
    base= base**base+1

are syntactically correct, but different.

Try to add "print base**base+1" to your loop to see what you are calculating. It is not what you think it is. And I don't see how it could print just 8, it has to start printing 2 and 5.

Thank-you
Well yes, sorry, it does print 2 and 5 and 8 and if I include
print base**base+1
it only prints five, indefinitely.