Is Medical Physics a Saturated Field?

In summary, medical physics is not immune to the economic slowdown, but in the long term, it is expected to grow following the expected increase in cancer cases. There are concerns that there are not enough accredited residency programs to cover the expected increase, but over the last couple of years, the number of accredited residency programs has increased considerably. In Canada anyway (where I am) there is considerable evidence of growth. From personal experience I have not known any PhDs who have completed medical physics programs who have had much trouble getting into residencies - even in today's climate. The problem right now is getting ABR certified.
lifter
I am considering a career in Medical Physics. I have a PhD in physics and am planning on entering either the CAMPEP accredited certificate program at University of Chicago or one in Canada. What worries me is that I have heard many conflicting viewpoints on the current state of Medical Physics. I have heard that it is extremely competitive to get into a CAMPEP accredited residency and even more competitive to find a job after completing the residency.

I am currently employed a a national lab, so making the career change would also require me to say goodbye to a salary and just hope that I will be able to land a residency in 2013. I recognize that jobs are hard to come by in nearly all fields right now, but I was just wondering about the state of Medical Physics. It seems like more and more people are going into that career field, so I don't want to be one of the people who were too late and be in a field that suffers from a lack of demand due to an oversupply of Physicists.

Any insight will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org