Improbable Grading Results in DOD Academy: 200 Students Receive A

• Thread starter promethius
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Statistics
In summary: A's in a row is y".In summary, the way that students are being graded in a particular performance test is statistically improbable.
promethius
I am an instructor in a DOD academy. I am trying to show that the way that students are being graded in a particular performance test is a statistical improbability.

I have 200 students, all of which received a final grade of A in a course which consisted of 38 performance tests. These students consisted of 6 different classes which conducted these tests.

the academy works fon a graduate level 10 point grading system, i.e. 100-90 =A, 89-80 = B, 79-70 =C, 69 and below failure.

My logic tells me that it is impossible for 200 human beings with varying intelligence levels, all to receive the grade of A for 38 individual performance tests.

I may not be providing sufficient amount of information, but if anyone out there can help, it would greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance to all!

Physics news on Phys.org
If P is the chance of a student getting A's on all 38 tests, then the probability of your event is P^200. For even odds of every student getting all A's, P would have to be as high as 0.996. Not very likely, unless the tests were all extremely easy.

mXSCNT said:
If P is the chance of a student getting A's on all 38 tests, then the probability of your event is P^200. For even odds of every student getting all A's, P would have to be as high as 0.996. Not very likely, unless the tests were all extremely easy.