I am 27 with a systems engineering and interested in physics

In summary, the speaker has been working for four years and recently obtained an engineering degree, but has become increasingly interested in physics and is considering pursuing a BS in Germany with a government scholarship. They are seeking advice on whether this is a good idea and what their career options would be in both industry and academia. The advice given is to research recent graduates and their job placements to determine the viability of pursuing a degree in physics and to carefully consider their level of passion and dedication for the subject.
d3_neux
I have been working about 4 years in the same company and got my engineering like 2 years ago, I am a good engineer but around 3 or 4 years ago I became very interested in physics and astrophysics. Maybe getting a BS in Germany because there is not very expensive, I am from Ecuador and I can get a government scholarship so I don't think money would be a problem.

What do you thing about this, can you give me some advice or tell me your story if you went through something similar?

Physics news on Phys.org
To what end? What do you want to do if you do get a BS in physics? Is this just for personal enjoyment, or do you want to work in some aspect of physics?

If you have a good job and some experience, think twice before you discard that to start over in an area where jobs may well be few and far between.

If you want to go into industry, then go to your local university library and get the physics magazines like Physics Today or whatever they are lately called. Get the issues that show recent graduates and where they got jobs. You can Google this, or your university librarian will be able to help you. Look at those jobs. If they look attractive, then it's a possible place to get a degree. If those jobs look boring or worse, keep reading until something does catch your eye.