How to start with String Theory

In summary, the best introduction to strings might be "A First Course in String Theory" by Zwiebach, or "Lectures on String Theory" by Lust and Theisen. Other good introductions are "Superstrings, the Intersection of the Physical and Mathematical Worlds" by Green, "The Elegant Universe" by Witten, and "Tong's String Theory" by Tong.
Breo
Hello folks,

I want to starting learning the subject this Christmas (Merry Christmas :D) and I am wondering what would be the best way to introduce me to Strings.

I am a masters student in Theoretical Physics.

Best wishes, and many thanks in advance.
Breo.

Physics news on Phys.org
I would say you take the course in University. If you are not in University then I would suggest Zwiebach " A first course in String theory" (it was suggested to me on a similar thread). After reading Zwiebach you could read the 2 Volumes of Polchinski or Schwarz and Becker(expensive, and I haven't read Becker or Schwarz yet so I can't judge them)... 200 posts :)

What do you think about the free notes by t' Hooft and others?

I am sorry but I haven't read them, so I can't say. But if you have a degree in theoretical physics I would say you can defenetly leave out the first chapters of Zwiebach. In chapter 4 he starts with nonrelativistic Strings and goes on to relativistic Strings in chapter 6 and inpart two he describes the developments, black hole entropy and so on.
Sorry, I really don't know of the notes.

Last edited by a moderator:
moriheru said:
Does the Introduction include superstrings?
Yes.

I liked the combination of Green,Schwartz,Witten and the notes by Tong. Tong only covers bosonic string theory but gives many intuitive explanations, and adds the CFT which is lacking from GSW (due to historical reasons).