How much Statistics Courses will I need as a Double Major in Physics/Math?

In summary, you only need to take one course over the span of your bsc degree, but in order to do science you will need to read beyond this introductory course.
flyingpig
Right, the question is how much Stats do I need? I am aiming for a double major in Math and Physics

I know that at some point I will have to take First-year stats (AP Statistics?), but what is beyond that? How many of those permutations/combinatorial courses will I need?

By the way, I am a freshman already, but I already finished Calculus III (I took it when I was a high school student at a community college).

Physics news on Phys.org
To pass the degree probably none (maybe knowing how to do a std dev/T-test/chi-squared for a lab class)
Actually working in physics - it depends.
Ranges from the "if you need more that 1st year intro stats - you are fooling yourself and should get better data"
To the "we have zero data but with enough Bayesian stats and Maximum Entropy Deconvolution - we can get a conclusion"

Well in my university by doing the combined math/physics programme I took only one course in probability.

Next year I'll start Graduate Studies in math (MSC, hopefully to tranfer to direct Phd), and maybe I'll take a course in statistical theory, but I am not obliged to take it, it may help me understand better the stuff I am doing in my labs.

So to summarise, you may need to take only one course over the span of your bsc degree, but in a whole to do science you will need to read beyond this introductory course.

It depends completely on the school. I'm a math/physics major as well, and the way things are going I'll graduate without knowing what a T-test is, and I took the honors section of prob/stat! But we used a graduate level textbook and I don't know that we even spent a single lecture on statistics or that the textbook even mentioned it.