How does the ratio test fail and the root test succeed here?

psie
TL;DR Summary
I'm studying Spivak's Calculus, chapter 23, problem 7. There he introduces the root test and he gives an example of a series for which the ratio test fails but the root test works. I struggle with verifying this.
The series that is given is $$\frac12+\frac13+\left(\frac12\right)^2+\left(\frac13\right)^2+\left(\frac12\right)^3+\left(\frac13\right)^3+\ldots.$$ Now, it's easy to see these are two separate geometric series, however, Spivak claims the ratio test fails because the ratio of successive terms does not approach a limit. I have figured out that $$a_{2n-1}=\left(\frac12\right)^{n},\quad a_{2n}=\left(\frac13\right)^{n},\quad n=1,2,\ldots.$$ For the ratio test, we should have that the fraction ##\left|\frac{a_{n}}{a_{n-1}} \right| ## approaches some finite limit or diverges to infinity. In this case, if ##n## is even we have that the fraction is ##\left(\frac23\right)^n\to 0## as ##n\to\infty##. If ##n## is odd, we have ##\left(\frac32\right)^n\frac13\to\infty## as ##n\to\infty##. This behavior confuses me. What can we conclude from this?

The root test given in the exercise is that if ##a_n\geq0## and ##\lim\limits_{n\to\infty}\sqrt[n]{a_n}=r##, then ##\sum_{n=1}^\infty a_n## converges if ##r<1## and diverges if ##r>1##. Apparently this test should work, but I do not see how when the even indexed subsequence and the odd indexed subsequence seem to converge to different limits, namely ##\frac13## and ##\frac12##.

Physics news on Phys.org
How does Spivak define the root test? The following definition uses the ##\lim \sup##.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Root_test

That said, it seems more logical to me to use the convergence of both subseries. It can't be hard to prove that if both ##\sum_{n = 1}^{\infty} a_n## and ##\sum_{n = 1}^{\infty} b_n## converge, then ##a_1 + b_1 + a_2 + b_2 + a_3 + b_3 \dots## must also converge.