Fishing Rod - Sensitivity Calculation

In summary, the conversation revolves around the idea of determining the effects of weight changes on a fishing rod's sensitivity to detecting fish strikes. The discussion touches on potential equations and variables that could be involved, as well as the use of a visual clue (rod tip movement) and its limitations. The main focus is on whether adding weight to the butt of a tip-heavy rod will improve its balance or decrease its sensitivity. Suggestions for determining the effects of different weight placements are also mentioned.
Jim Hicks
Can one correlate the effects of a change in weight to the transmission of vibrations (fish strike) through a fishing rod?

I'm not an engineer. I don't know what equations may apply. I'm not even certain I'm describing the question correctly. I'd appretiate any assistance.

I've attempted to gather what I could through the Internet and understand that human physical sensitivity is measured as a matter of degree change that can be detected. The few articles I could find on fish strikes show measurements in grams force. I am guessing that this would equate to the rod in how much grams force is required to effect a physical movement of X degrees on the fisherman's grip. A change in the weight of the rod would then change the force required to affect the grip. I'm sure that there are many variables that would need to be considered; angle of the rod to the force being applied, distance from grip to tip top, etc.

Engineering news on Phys.org
I would think that the deflection of the rod's tip would be a more sensitive measure of a fish strike. Of course, the indicator mechanism (whatever it was) would go off while you were casting, and other times when you were moving the rod around to where the tip was deflecting.