Exploring Postgraduate Study in France: Tips and Resources for UK Undergraduates

• Thread starter JvanDyne
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Study Uk
In summary, the speaker is a final-year UK-residing maths undergraduate who wants to pursue a PhD in astrophysics in Paris. However, due to a community agreement, a masters degree is required for a Parisian PhD. The speaker is now wondering about the feasibility of completing a masters in astrophysics in Paris for the next academic year, with regards to funding. They are advised to research schools and reach out to professors in their area of interest. The speaker is also encouraged to look into scholarships and apply for them.
JvanDyne
I'm a final-year UK-residing maths undergrad and I was hoping to continue my studies with a PhD in astrophysics. I am hoping -- or rather was, straight from my graduate work -- to go to Paris (for various personal reasons) and complete a PhD there. However, as I'm sure some of you are aware, because of the some intra-EU community agreement, you require a masters degree for a Parisian PhD.

So my question is: how viable is it (w/r/t/ funding) for me to complete a masters (in astrophysics) in Paris for the next academic year?

Thanks in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
You need to Google up some schools to do the degree at and get info directly from them. They will be able to tell you things like how much it costs, how long it takes, what the entry requirements are, what the chances are for a scholarship or teaching work during your degree, and lots of other questions I have not thought of. Like, if you need a student visa or other immigration documents. And lots of other things.

Depending on details, you might want to talk to specific profs in your area of interest. Again, Google is your friend. Also

http://arxiv.org/