Do I have any chance of becoming a theoretical physicist?

In summary, this senior physics student has difficulty getting good grades in university, and does not feel motivated to do well in exams. He also has a poor study style, and is not focused on grades or success in his academic career. He has taken graduate-level courses because he thought they were interesting and important, despite them being difficult. If he were to pursue a career in physics, he would need to focus on finding a way into a graduate school, as the universities are quite busy. Very slim chance.
LazarusLong
I am a senior physics student. Since high school I have been mainly self-taught in physics. I’ve hardly had any success in university, with an average score of about 74. The reason partly has to do with my terrible algebra skills, with the vast majority of exams being algebra-oriented. However, to me this seems like a symptom of an extensive illness: I have no motivation to prepare for exams.

I found that the correlation between my grades and my level of understanding of each courses ranked from 0 to 10 is slightly negative (albeit so small as to be considered insignificant). Even if I invest considerable efforts in exam preparation (which I do), the preparation is doomed to be inefficient, as I perceive it as a waste of time which could ironically be used for physics education. In fact, I study more physics on my summer vacation than I do during the entire semester.

My studying style thus been entirely devoid of focus on grades. I took graduate level courses (relativistic quantum mechanics, statistical physics of interacting systems, quantum field theory, introduction to the standard model, general relativity) because I thought they were important and interesting, despite them being considered difficult. Just for fun I have written four unpublished papers on topics ranging from quantum foundations to Brownian motion. I have read books and papers not related to any courses I was taking.