Can I study in USA after I have dropped out in EU university?

In summary,The author is from Spain and would like to study physics in the US, but is worried about his unsuccessful study in Spain. He recommends Minnesota State University Moorhead and Bemidji State University.
samnathan
Hi, I am from Spain. I have dropped out from a university (2 years of medicine in Spain without any degree) and now after 4 years I would like to study a completely different subject and that's physics (or theoretical physics if possible) in the United States.

Is this possible or I have no chance at all?

Which universities/colleges in the States allow me to study there if I studied unsuccessfully for 2 years in EU university?

Which unis are the most affordable/best for foreign students?

I'm going to do TOEFL test in 2013 and at that time I think I would have money for 3 years (if the payment for 1 year is no more than 20 000 dollars) to get a Bachelor degree.

But I am concerned about the previous unsuccessful study here in EU.

I would like to fill an application in 2013 or 2014 (depends on my English improvement and my TOEFL score and also on my financial status at that time ;)

So, any advice or personal experience is highly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, it's certainly possible to enroll in a college in the US. You'd be majoring in physics (theoretical physics is not a major). When you apply, they will consider your high school grades and test scores (you'll need to take the SAT, and possibly TOEFL as well) and your college grades, even if you dropped out and even if you won't transfer any classes. Poor grades in college will hurt your application, so if you had poor grades you might not want to aim too high when applying to colleges in the US. I doubt you'll find a school where you can pay for tuition, fees, books, housing, transportation, and food for 20k a year. It can easily cost twice that or more.