Buying a beginner pair of binoculars

• Stargazing
  • Thread starter brother time
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Beginner Pair
In summary: Thanks for going GOLD Kalam! I have a pair of 10x50 Celestrons that are pretty good, though my go-to's are an older pair of Nikon 7x50s. Nobody should venture out into the night without a decent pair of binoculars, even if you have a nice 'scope. Mine are always with me.In summary, a beginner pair of binoculars could be bought for around $30 at a store like Ocean Pacific. Orion's Giantview series are a good option, though they may suffer from glare issues. A telescope would be a better option for people new to observational astronomy.
brother time
I'm a freshman in high school and was thinking of buying a beginner pair of binoculars. Could someone suggest one I might buy?

Astronomy news on Phys.org

brother time said:
I'm a freshman in high school and was thinking of buying a beginner pair of binoculars. Could someone suggest one I might buy?
Celestron's 10x50s are pretty nice for the price, and they are often on sale at larger dealers. I think I paid less than $30 for mine at Ocean Pacific, and there was a green laser pointer and a red LED chart-light in the bundle. I bought them so I'd have an extra pair of binoculars in my vehicle for quick looks at birds, etc, and I don't want to leave my Nikons in the vehicle.

I recommend any Orion binocs. I have had some trouble with Celestron binoculars recently. The insides were not coated, and I would get horrible glare, making them completely useless. The Orions have had some problems with being properly collimated, but their customer service is fantastic, and they will get them sorted out for you in no time.

The Orion Giantview series is probably my favourite. A reasonable price, and plenty of aperture to catch all sorts of faint stars! You can get lost out there with these.

KalamMekhar said: