Astrophysics Career: Pursuing a PhD & Job Prospects

In summary, while life as a astrophysicist is not too different from other physics/science jobs, it does require a lot of time and effort. It's also difficult to find a job doing research outside of a university. As an undergrad, pursuing a degree in engineering may give you a leg up in the application process and may provide you with more opportunities to do research in the future.
Roberto Rivas
Hi,
I am currently a sophomore in high school and wish to pursuit a a PhD in astrophysics. I was wondering how life as a astrophysicist is actually like and as well how difficult it is to reach it. I have a pretty strong background in math and science as I am currently in Calculus AB and plan to take Physics C next year as a junior.
I don't really see myself in the future as a college professor as I would rather much do research since everything about the universe truly fascinates me and would rather focus on that but I hear that it's quite difficult to even land a job doing research outside of a university.
And another concern that I had was that if it's possible to do aerospace engineering as an undergrad and astrophysics for graduate school?
Thank you.

Physics news on Phys.org
Roberto Rivas said:
Hi,
I am currently a sophomore in high school and wish to pursuit a a PhD in astrophysics. I was wondering how life as a astrophysicist is actually like and as well how difficult it is to reach it. I have a pretty strong background in math and science as I am currently in Calculus AB and plan to take Physics C next year as a junior.
I don't really see myself in the future as a college professor as I would rather much do research since everything about the universe truly fascinates me and would rather focus on that but I hear that it's quite difficult to even land a job doing research outside of a university.